Razer Nabu 2015 Review for iOS Experience


I would have received my smartband earlier but the landlord/lady claimed that I was not home, even though I was all day 😦

It has been a week and I am satisfied with how well it works with my iPhone. The question is, does it do everything it claimed to do? So far, yes! By the way, I am not posting too many pictures because the official website already has it covered. Onward to the review…

SIZING
I am a petite lady so the small/medium size feels like a bangle to me which is fine. There are 2 interchangeable clasps that comes with it.

CONNECTIVITY
After turning on the bluetooth on my phone and installing the official app that is specified for the Nabu (not the Nabu X), it was easy to pair it so long as my smartband was far enough away from my significant other’s Nabu. It’s simply typing in a 4 digit PIN to pair, as opposed to the serial number from the last batch.

The Nabu gets out of range around 15 feet from the phone but it usually reconnects without a problem. When it does not re-connect, I go to settings > Bluetooth and select the Nabu from the Bluetooth list. Then I go back to the app and see if it syncs.

DISPLAY
In the app, there are a few settings you can customise. I noticed there was an option for left/right wrist placement. I selected left so the button on the Nabu is facing downwards. My default first screen is the time followed by steps, distance walked, calories burnt. You can customise whether or not you want it shown via the app. The screen brightness can also be adjusted. I opted for the lowest setting because the brightness did not seem much different.

NOTIFICATIONS
There are 4 vibration settings and the default is set to medium. For the iOS version, the notification from apps are actually through the iOS settings. The Android version is customisable in the Nabu app itself. To dismiss the notification, I chose the “shake device” method which is convenient but also slightly annoying. I feel like I have to shake twice firmly in order to dismiss the notification. Perhaps there is a secret method that I have not discovered yet.

What I also like is that I can set alarms and the vibration will wake me.

TRACKING
Yes it works as a fitness tracker and sleep tracker. In the app you can start a sleep session but I do not bother as the Nabu automatically does it for you. Fitness tracking includes steps taken, distance travelled, calories burned, and active minutes.

BATTERY
According to the manual, it takes about 90 minutes to fully charge and it did. As for the charging cable, Razer acted like Apple and made a proprietary cable this time.

As for the battery life, it actually did last about 6 days for me

OTHER NOTES
There are firmware updates for the Nabu but the app fails to notify me. I have to manually check it and there have been 2 firmware updates so far during the first week.

I wish I could display the battery life on the Nabu but I have to go into the app itself or I could swipe down on my iPhone.
IMG_1161

VERDICT
For the price, it is a great value for a smartband with a display screen and notification capabilities. If you would like a more Jawbone-like experience for a cheaper price though, the Nabu X would be my recommendation.

Review for Android experience coming soon!

Leave a reply. Links in comment section are counted as spam and are deleted.

